Angel Arceo
Joe Camacho
Ben Carlson
Brian Casey
Fernando Dillon
David Durbin
Wesley Jones
Garen Kissoyan
Peter Kravariotis
Steven Lewis
Kim Miller
Terry Millsaps
Mark Segal
Charles Stevens
Justin Sturm
Donald Thompson
Richard Torres
Krill Yantikov


CSFA Historical Society NEEDS YOUR SUPPORT. The California State Firefighters’ Association Historical Society  invites you to take part in sponsoring the CSFA Historical Society Valor Awards. If you have any questions please email Bill Hoffman, Oceanside Fire Dept. (Retired)

CSFA Historical Society Valor Awards

Established in 1967 the California State Firefighters' Association (CSFA) Historical Society Valor Award gives public recognition to individuals throughout California who have unselfishly provided their personal support to their fellow citizens. It is an outstanding opportunity to honor the award recipients for their heroic acts of courage that they displayed.

Valor Award nominations can be submitted throughout the year.   Recipients of the CSFA Historical Society Valor Awards can be recognized at the local jurisdiction.

DONATIONS - The CSFA Historical Society Valor Awards Program operates exclusively using donated funds.  Please help us continue to honor the heroic acts of others by clicking the donate button below.

The Awards

Medal of Valor: The Medal of Valor will be awarded to individuals that voluntarily risk their own life to an extortionary degree in saving or attempting to save the life of another person, or voluntarily sacrificed themselves in a heroic manner for the benefit of others during a fire-rescue event.

Purple Heart Award: The CSFA Purple Heart will be awarded to individuals that suffer severe physical injury that result in hospitalization or death while in the performance of emergency services as a member of the California fire service. This award would be awarded by a CSFA director, deputy director, their designee or a Valor Award Committee Member while the member is recuperating or would be presented posthumously to the members family. 

Unit Citation: The Unit Citation/Commendation will be awarded to a team or organized group of two or more individuals that voluntarily assist others in emergent situations. The individuals must have displayed gallantry, determination, and esprit de corps in accomplishing its mission under extremely difficult and hazardous conditions.

Award of Merit: The Award of Merit will be awarded to individuals who assist others in emergency situations with limited risk to themselves.

Certificate of Recognition: The Certificate of Recognition may be issued by any CSFA Board Member to a recipient within that Board member’s area of responsibility.

Letter of Recognition: A Letter of Recognition will be sent over the CSFA President’s signature to recognize individuals that voluntarily assist others in emergency situations with little or no risk to themselves and have not qualified for Medal of Valor, Unit Citation, or Merit Awards