Select Page

Proudly Serving the Entire
California Fire Service since 1922

Awarded annually at the The Continuing Challenge Hazardous Materials Emergency Response Workshop in Sacramento, the Leo K. Najarian Responder of the Year Award honors an individual, agency or organization who most exemplifies the spirit, ideals, essence and practice of hazardous materials response and management. The award is open to any responder public or private, volunteer or paid. The honor is named after Leo K. Najarian of Los Angeles Fire Department and former CSFA Hazardous Materials Committee Chair, who was an early guide and mentor in hazardous materials response and incident management.

Selection criteria is based upon:

  • Involvement in fire and life safety
  • Major contributions/accomplishments to fire and life safety

Any CSFA member may nominate any agency, organization or individual. Nominations are only accepted online at

Deadline for nominations is June 1.